RSS Feed

The Latest and The Last

Dear Saginaw Slam Family — This is your faithful Slam Master speaking.  You may have noticed that I’ve been lax on the blogging for the past several months.  That’s the kind of thing that happens when you take on too many commitments and can’t figure out how to successfully clone yourself.  Somethings gotta give and unfortunately, there is a job Delta College is paying me to do and no one else wants my kids… alas, the Saginaw Slam Blog site has suffered my near abandonment instead.  But it is with all of this in mind that I must say with a heavy heart that my days as your Slam Master are numbered.  I will be accompanying our 2013 Saginaw Slam Team to the Rustbelt Regional Poetry Slam in Madison, Wisconsin, June 14 & 15 and then… I will be calling it quits.  I am extremely proud of the Saginaw Slam’s first two seasons.  I believe we have all worked to create a beautiful community of poets and poetry lovers that has the fortitude to survive this very small hiccup in the life of a Slam. That is, I believe you all will carry on just fine without me.  And, if you decide you don’t want to, it was cool while it lasted.  I had a blast and I hope you did too.  And if anyone (preferably without a more-than-full-time job and children) is interested in taking the helm of this crazy ship, I’d be more than open to helping that brave person through the grueling process of becoming a true slam master (hint: the most difficult step is getting used to putting “Slam Master” in front of your name).  The team is excited for Regionals and I am excited to coach them there and through.  Please stay tuned to our facebook site for updates on what goes down in Madison. I have had a tremendous time meeting you all and poetrying with you all.  I hope that you will not let the Saginaw Slam die — but if it does, I will always remember these first & last two seasons fondly & I hope you will too!

Peace! For Poetry! For Saginaw!
-Slam Master JodiAnn

Leave a Reply

